Experience Needed . . .

Top o’ the morning to ya!

Hey! So, look at this: posting two days in a row! I would say I am off to a pretty good start.

Well, I can’t say that much has happened today. Not yet, anyway. For the past few months, my routine has been as follows: get up around 7AM, Job Hunt, Job Hunt, Job Hunt, breakfast, Job Hunt, check email, check Facebook, look at blogs, Job Hunt, get ready and head to the gym to work off my frustration. I tell you what, I don’t think I have ever felt as bad about myself as I do after hours of scouring for a job. In all honesty, many days I shut my laptop with a sense of overwhelming hopelessness. It makes me question my abilities, my lack of skills . . . my intelligence. Granted, I graduated from college with a BFA in Dance, so as far as industry experience goes, I have to face the fact that I am a little behind. However, that is not to say I didn’t put forth an effort throughout school. I made great grades, wrote for my school’s newspaper, and participated in an internship for a non-profit ant-speeding campaign (Picture A Safer Tucson). Yet, every morning I am faced with the reality that I am competing for jobs with people who have 5-10+ years experience in the editorial and publishing fields. (Have I mentioned that I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to serve in such roles as an editorial assistant, proofreader, publishing assistant, or copywriter?) My question always is: How am I supposed to get experience if no one is willing to give me the opportunity to gain experience? I often wish I could actually submit my resume in person instead of just online . . . that definitely was a plus: to show an employer your person in years past, eh? I guess that is one draw-back to advanced technology.

But, hey. I am going to continue to keep chugging away. Persistence must pay off at one point, right? And if there is one trait I have, that is definitely persistence.

But enough about my job woes. Do you know what I do when I am not looking for my big break?

I BAKE Smile

So, yesterday . . . inspired by Madre’s (Madre is my mom, FYI.) hint that she wished she had biscotti to dunk in her morning cup of coffee, I made these sweet little babies:

Chunky Monkey Biscotti

DSC01779

This lovely recipe came from one of my favorite foodie blogs: Sugar Plum

I started reading Emily’s blog this past summer, and I immediately fell in love. Her blog, filled with  bubbly daily musings and exceptionally delicious recipes, was one of the things that inspired me to start Going Through the Big D.

You should definitely head on over to her site and check it out! You won’t be disappointed!

Well, I am off to the gym. I will catch you later!

Happy Friday!

1 Comment

Filed under lamentations, recipes

One response to “Experience Needed . . .

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter-Banana Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies | Going Through the Big D

Leave a Reply

