A Dreary Day and Deadlifts

Happy Monday!

Was your Monday a good one? I hope so. Mine was filled with a gloomy, rainy drizzle of a day and a to-do list the size of a 6-year olds wish list to Santa! Okay, maybe that is an exaggeration, but it sure was jam-packed!

Like every good girl should do, I began my day with a well-balanced breakfast: oat bran (it sounds horrible, but I promise you it is quite tasty and satisfying) and egg whites. Plus, a nice ol’ cup of joe! (A picture will come . . . someday Smile)

And because I couldn’t resist, I had a bite of the Baked Apple Slices with Peanut Butter Crumble (aka Peanut Butter Apple Crisp) that I had made this weekend. (Recipe to come!) I mean, it’s perfectly justifiable, right? Apples=fruit. Crumble= peanut butter and oats. Those are all breakfasty foods . . . I am still counting it as a go! So worth it!

Then, this afternoon after some errands, I met up with my friend Lori so we could work on our fitness! Lori and I met through a mutual friend and connected instantly! We have so much in common, especially our love for fitness. And guess what? She’s a personal trainer! AND owns her own studio to boot! This girl is one smart cookie!

Anyway, Lori has introduced me to the beautifully challenging world of weight lifting. Before, I had always been a cardio bunny, but now I am a firm believer in the importance of strength training. Did you know that it not only makes you stronger, but it also amps up your metabolism?? Well, IT DOES! And I can honestly say that I feel like I have some upper body strength for the first time in my life! And I owe it all to Lori. She kicks my butt!

Here’s what we did today:

  1. Deadlifts: 3 sets of 15 reps
  2. Pull-ups (assisted): warm-up set of 15, followed by 2 sets of 15 or as many as we could do (each set decreasing the resistance)
  3. Upright Cable Rows: 3 sets of 15
  4. Lat Pull-Downs: 4 sets of 15

It was a short weight day today because we had another person join us AND we had to head to the spinning class! Oh yeah cardio!

I have to admit, today was my first time ever deadlifting, and my back is already getting sore! (Oooo baby, you know it hurts so good!) But I did have to have Lori break down the technique of the exercise. It is important to have the correct form on this, because you run the risk of really hurting yourself if performed incorrectly. Here’s the basic move:

deadlift

Image from: http://www.simplyshredded.com/deads.html

Also, it helped me to remember to keep my weight in my heels and to keep my head up!

Well, after I was thoroughly sweated-out . . . seriously, I looked like a swamp monster. I jetted back home for some lunch and to do some job hunting. I also started my online class in Microsoft Office programs. This girl needs to learn Excel, baby! (Should I be scared??)

Now, I am about to go relax and watch the Finale of The Bachelor. Who will Ben choose?

Courtney

Coutney bachelor

(with a classic Courtney face)

or

Lindzi

LindzifromtheBachelor

C’mon, Ben! It’s a no brainer!!!

Questions for the day:

  1. What are your favorite weight exercises?
  2. What’s your favorite Bachelor moment so far? 
Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, work outs

Leave a Reply

