My “Signature”

Wow, if you can believe it, I had somewhat of a busy weekend! As always, I had every intention of blogging earlier, but time just seemed to slip away from me. But, maybe you will forgive me since I did leave you with a nice shirtless pic of Arnie and all. Right? Forgiven? Sweet . . . moving on Winking smile

Some big news as of Friday: I have a part-time job! See, a few weeks ago I dropped off my resume and letter to a local café/catering business. I did not know if they were hiring at the time, but I thought it was worth a shot to express my interest. Anyway, I had completely written it off since I hadn’t hear from them in weeks. BUT as I was finishing moving my Gma last week, I received an email asking if I would be interested in joining the company’s part-time event staff!! YUZZZZZ!!! So, on Friday I met with the catering manager to go over specifics. Now, I am so excited to begin working! The manager was extremely nice, and I was digging the cafes welcoming atmosphere. My first day is on Wednesday, so I will report back on how it goes.

The rest of my Friday was a pretty typical day in the life. Lifting and spinning with Lori, my online class, random errands, etc. I did meet up with one of my best friends, Katie, to catch up over coffee, and I made my signature dessert for my Uncle B.

Okay, okay, I know . . . signature? I’m not some elite chef or anything, and I certainly did not come up with the recipe. (My Gma gave it to me, and I have no clue where she found it). However, it is the thing a make all the time, and the one thing over which people seem to rave. That’s why Poppa (my dad) nicknamed these little babies “Lemon Crack.”

They seriously are like potato chips- you can’t eat just one. And, to make it even harder to control that willpower, they are perfectly pop-able.

Since I am in a benevolent mood this morning, I decided I would share my favorite recipe with you! But be warned, once you make these there is NO GOING BACK! Smile

Lemon Blossom Cookies (AKA LEMON CRACK)

glazed lemon crack

COOKIES:

  1. 18.5 oz. package of yellow cake mix
  2. 3.5 oz. package INSTANT lemon pudding mix
  3. 4 large eggs
  4. 3/4 C vegetable oil

GLAZE:

  1. 4 C. powdered sugar
  2. 1/3 C lemon juice (fresh is best!)
  3. zest of 1 lemon
  4. 3 T vegetable oil
  5. 3 T water

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Spray mini muffin tins with cooking spray.
  • Combine cake mix, lemon pudding mix, eggs, and oil. Blend/beat until smooth (about 2 minutes).
  • Pour a small amount of batter into each tin- I fill it about 3/4 full.

lemon batter 2

  • Bake for 10-11 minutes. (Look for just a little golden hue on the edges).
  • Cool a minute before flipping onto a paper towel.
  • GLAZE: sift sugar into mixing bowl. Add lemon juice, zest, oil, and water. Mix with a spoon until smooth and combined.
  • Dip cookie cups into glaze while still a bit warm. Warning: Your hands WILL get gooey and sticky!
  • Set cookie cups on wire rack to cool and set. (Note: I put 2 layers of paper towels under my cooling racks- that glaze likes to drip and can make your table sticky!)

glazed lemon crack 2

Now try to eat just one . . . Winking smile

 

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

