It Burns!!!

Happy Tuesday!

So, I don’t know about you, but I was really dragging this morning. I mean, I had a good night’s sleep (although I should try to get to bed even earlier), a good, hearty breakfast, and a pretty non-stressful morning. Still, I felt like I was in a dense haze of lethargy! I couldn’t figure it out until I was driving to the gym: I had forgotten to take my BCAAs!

What are BCAAs you ask? Here’s a little video from bodybuilding.com that gives a quick overview:

BCAA Video

I never have been a huge believer in supplements and what not, but I tell you what, I don’t think it is just a fluke. Since I have started taking BCAA powder each day, I feel more energetic and my workouts feel stronger! Cross my heart and hope to die! Lori has made a believer out of this girl! Smile

I definitely could have used an extra boost of power today too, because Lori and I completed a KILLER workout this afternoon. The victims today were our quads and calves!

Check it out:

Quads Workout (Note: we tried to move up in weight for each set!):

  • Leg Press (4 Sets with Reps of 50, 45, 40, 35) Yes, that does say 50 . . . that is why I said it was KILLER!

Or as Bartok would say:

bartok talk

Please tell me you’ve seen Anastasia?!! Great movie! Great Music! And I love little Bartok Smile My favorite scene is his kung fu kick sequence!

Bartok reel He’s too cute to be evil!

Back to the rest of the workout . . .

  • Barbell Lunge (4 Sets with Reps of 15, 12, 10, 10 – remember, BOTH LEGS= 1 rep!)
  • Smith Machine Squats (4 Sets of 15 Reps)
  • Leg Extensions (4 Sets with Reps of 30, 25, 20, 15)

Calf Workout (Again, we moved up in weight with each set):

 

  • Standing Calf Raises (3 Sets with Reps of 25, 15, 10)
  • Seated Calf Raise- We used the Leg Press (3 Sets with Reps of 25, 15, 10)

And Done!

I’m not gonna lie . . . my muscles were shaking during most of these exercises, and I was feeling the BURN!!!!!!!

Random aside: Whenever I say that it always reminds me of a scene in She’s the Man. The one where she gets hit in the crotch with a soccer ball while posing as her brother:

shes the man it burns

“Oh! For the love of God! It BURRRRRNNNNNSSSS!”

Here’s the trailer for the movie. Unfortunately, they just barely cut off the last line, but it is so funny. I think I probably quote this movie daily . . . but when am I not quoting movies, eh? Smile

Well, I am off to hopefully be productive . . . we’ll see how that goes!

Questions for the day:

  • Are you a believer in supplements? If so, which have you found to be the most helpful?
  • What movie do you find yourself quoting the most?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, work outs

Leave a Reply

