Conga Conga Congo!

In the mood for chocolate? How about some oh-so-tasty toasted coconut? Maybe some white chocolate to sweeten the pot? Yes? Well, I have a treat for you!

Congo Bars

I first made these gooey little guys in March to send to a friend while he was deployed overseas. My mouth was literally watering as I sealed them up good and tight in a few Ziploc bags. Of course, the edges that wouldn’t quite fit in the box found there way into my mouth. Poppa (my dad) even was able to sneak a few crumbs, and man did he go cuckoo for Congo Bars. That’s why I knew that these would be the perfect sweet treat to make for Fathers Day!

I used this recipe from The Curvy Carrot and only made a few changes. For instance, I did not add toasted almonds because I don’t care for nuts in my desserts. Also, my backing time ending up being closer to the original 25 minutes. Plus, I don’t own a cake tester, so I relied on a handy ol’ toothpick to test the doneness of my bars.

Congo Bars

Serves: About 12 medium sized, gooey bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 12 T (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted & cooled
  • 1 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla ext
  • 1/2 C semisweet chocolate chips, plus more to sprinkle on top
  • 1/2 C white chocolate chips, plus more to sprinkle on top
  • 1 1/2 C shredded coconut, toasted (plus more for sprinkling on top)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Line a 9X13 inch pan with foil. Make sure to leave a couple inches overhang on each side. This permits easy removal! Make sure to thoroughly spray the foil with cooking spray!
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the flower, baking powder and salt.
  • In a larger bowl, or the bowl of your stand up mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, mix the melted butter and brown sugar until well combined.
  • Add the eggs and vanilla, mix well.
  • Manually stir in the flour mixture until just combined.
  • Add chocolate chips and coconut, again manually incorporating.
  • Evenly spread the batter into your prepared pan. *I found it easier to plop small globules and then fill/spread them together.
  • Bake for 22-30 minutes. *I used a toothpick to test the gooeyness. Only a little goo should remain on the toothpick. The Curvy Carrot suggested that the top of the bars should be slightly firm to the touch and possibly cracked; however, mine never cracked.
  • Remove bars from oven and garnish with extra chocolate and coconut.
  • Cool on wire rack.
  • Remove bars by using the foil overhand trick, cut into squares and ENJOY!

Trust me . . . You are going to love these. But make sure you have a napkin handy. They are quite messy!

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

