Lazy Day of Summer

Sometimes you just need a day to do nothing.

I woke up on Saturday morning feeling anything but bright-eyed and bushy tailed. Thanks to a stomach ache (due to one too many handfuls of kettle corn), an epic sneezy-and-watery-eyes allergy attack, and a night as sticky and hot as one in a rainforest, I did not get much sleep. My sneezing and tossing and turning kept this little one up too.

Someone is tired!

Madre had a similar restless night, so we decided to spend a lazy Saturday watching movies and relaxing . . . After a quick trip to the gym.

My workout was just the right amount of sweaty. After pushing it for about 30 minutes on the elliptical, I headed over to the weights to complete a good leg workout:

Exercise

Reps

Sets

Weight

Squats

50

3

12 lbs

Step ups

15 ea. leg

3

15 lbs.

Hamstring Curls

15 ea. leg

3

15 lbs.

Lunges

15 ea. leg

3

15 lbs.

My legs are nice and sore today. Love it!

The rest of the day was spent watching the tele. I know, I know . . . not the most productive day, but sometimes you need a lazy day to recharge. Plus, ever since Madre and I saw Prometheus at the dollar theatre last week, I was dying to see the original Alien movie.

Maybe I was completely out of the loop, but I had no idea that Prometheus was a prequel to Alien! However, once I saw this guy at the end, everything fell into place.

(Source)

Yikes! That thing is creeeeeepy. Razor sharp teeth, dagger-like nails, and that weirdly elongated head- I believe I would start crying if one of those popped out of my closet. Speaking of . . . so you know E.T.? Well, ever since I saw this scene:

(Source)

I made Madre and Poppa check my closet before bed for about a year. Aliens have also been a horrific weakness of mine.

Madre and I did lighten the mood a bit in the evening though: Chinese take-out and the movie New Year’s Eve. The movie was kind of cute, but as far as the simultaneous love stories in one type genre, I’ll stick with Love Actually. Best movie ever. I did pick quite an interesting fortune cookie though.

Say what? I’m not sure what to say to this . . .

Anyway, I am off to conquer a few things on my to-do list before I call it a night! Enjoy the last few hours of the weekend!

Questions of the day:

  • What were you most afraid of as a child?
  • Have you ever had a strange fortune or experience with a fortune teller/palm reader?

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, work outs

Leave a Reply

