Luck Of the Irish

Happy Saturday everyone! I hope everyone is having a fantastic weekend. My weekend definitely started off with a bang yesterday.

As all of you know, I have been on the job hunt for quite awhile now, and I have to admit that after many unanswered inquiries and rejection letters, I can’t say I am bubbling over with optimism. It’s a tough market out there- I’m sure everyone has felt the repercussions of our economy. However, I have found a spark of hope! I am now in contact with an editor at McGraw-Hill through a childhood friend! She is extremely kind and helpful, and I could not be more thankful for her advice. It is also so nice to actually talk to a person for once. Overall, the entire online application process has been extremely impersonal and cold. Sign up for a company’s application/job site, answer fill in the blank or select “this” option questions, get an automated email confirming the company received your application, hear nothing for a month . . . then maybe you will get a generic rejection email. However, if you’re awesome, maybe you get an interview! If that’s the case, you rock!

Anyway, fingers crossed that something pans out. I would absolutely love to work for McGraw-Hill. Such an exemplary name in the education industry! I would be so very honored!

After a quick workout and more application business, Madre and I headed down to Columbus to take part in the festivities at the Dublin Irish Festival.

I had never been to the festival before but had always wanted to go, especially since an old family friend used to perform with an Irish Dance Group at the event. She was quite the little tapper. Although she no longer sports the tight pin curls and plaid skorts, Madre and I still thought we would head out Friday night to check out the adult dance competition.

As soon as we arrived at the festival (courtesy of the free shuttle service from the parking area- they have a great thing going on there!) We headed to get some cool refreshments.

I’m not really a beer kind of girl, but nothing sounded better on a sticky and humid 95 degree evening. Crisp and cold, baby!

After walking around for a bit, we hit the food! Madre wasted no time in getting a corn dog.

I had a little trouble deciding what I wanted. Fish and chips, sausage, stew in a bread bowl, pizza, ice cream, FUNNEL CAKE . . . so many choices! In the end, it came down to whether I wanted salty or sweet. So guess what I did?

I got both. Kettle corn all the way. Maybe not your most nutritious dinner, but sometimes you just have to go with the flow. We are talking fair food here- not the most health-focused choices. BUT how many times do you go to things like this? You have to enjoy your self and live a little, eh?

By the time we finished munching away, it was almost time for the dance competition to start. Commence wading through the throngs of people!

Our view at the competition ended up being pretty poor, so we did not end up watching very much. We did however get to take in a bit of music before we headed back to catch the shuttle.

Overall, I had a blast! I loved spending some quality time with Madre, and it was fun to get out and do something new. I cannot wait to go back next year- I think I will even make an effort to see the highland games. Men throwing logs. . . while wearing kilts. Yuuzzzzz!

Questions of the day:

  • What are your favorite festivals to attend?
  • What are your favorite special fair-type treats?

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under travel

Leave a Reply

