Check, Check, Check

The past day and a half has been spent getting things marked off my To-Do list. I can’t say they have all been fun, but at least I feel more productive.

My first major accomplishment was the one I was most dreading. A few weeks ago, Madre and I booked a trip to an all-inclusive vacation to Cancun in September! (I’ve never been on a cruise or an exotic vacation, so I am eager to relax, sip on fancy umbrella-clad drinks, and soak in some hot, sunny rays). However, when booking the trip, Madre and I did not purchase the trip insurance. Unfortunately, in the last few days my grandfather’s health has took another turn for the worst. So, for a little breathing room, I decided to call the travel company to see if I could go ahead add the insurance now.

The only bad part was that I had to call an 800 number . . . so I had a book ready by my side to read for when I was put on hold. However, www.cheapcaribbean.com pleasantly surprised my cynical self. Within a few minutes of dialing, a very nice women began to help me. The best part: I was still able to purchase the insurance I needed. Therefore, I would highly recommend cheapcarribean to anyone looking to book a trip. Although the name sounds a bit cheesy, my experience so far with the company has been beyond exceptional. Oh, and don’t worry, I will give my final review of my vacation experience when I return from the sand and sun in September.

After sending a long list of emails, I took a break from my checklist to hit the gym. Since it was a Monday, my favorite spinning class was on my agenda. However, I always get to the Y early to reserve a bike and warm up before the intensity ensues.

After an easy 20 minutes on the elliptical to get the blood flowing, I intended to complete part of a workout I got from one of my favorite blogs, Peanut Butter Fingers:

Shoulders & Abs

Superset One: Front Shoulder Raises & 60 sec. plank

Superset Two: Upright Row & 50 Crunches (on yoga ball)

Superset Three: Side Shoulder Raises & 20 Reverse Crunches

* Complete three sets of 15 reps for each superset

I got through the first two supersets, but everyone at the gym was in quite the talkative mood. I had to cut my workout short to catch my spinning class, but I wasn’t too upset. Spinning left me looking like a swamp monster: sweaty from head to toe!

Lunch was quickly thrown together when I arrived home: Roasted broccoli, scrambled eggs, and a side of kettle corn. (I need to get the hang of taking pictures of my meals and what not. I promise I will get better. Baby steps, eh?)

Then it was time for a bath. Not me. This little bumpkin:

Ellie boo is not a fan of baths. She’s like a cat . . . she clings to the side of the bathtub for dear life. She did survive though!

Someone is not a happy camper . . . she was mad so she wouldn’t look at me. Ellie is the first dog I’ve met that can hold a grudge.

She did get a treat for her suffering.

Look at her attacking that peanut butter! She certainly is my dog!

The rest of my night was spent cleaning the house. Fun stuff!

I am off to spend the evening with Madre. Let’s see if I can get her to the gym!

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, travel, work outs

Leave a Reply

