Home is Wherever I’m with You

Days like today remind me that living at home is not really all that bad. Truly. I was not even rolling my eyes as I wrote that.

For starters, after having lived in several different states over the past 6 years, I have come to appreciate the great network of reliable medical professionals in my home town. When I moved to Pennsylvania last summer, I had a difficult time finding a good doctor in the area. This was partially to blame because the town was so small, but the whole getting-to-know you and your entire medical history is pretty exhausting! So, it’s been extremely getting to see the doctors I have had since I was just a wee little bumpkin.

This morning started off with such a visit to my dermatologist. Throughout puberty I was lucky enough to evade the ever-so-embarrassing effects of acne. (Dun, dun, dun!) However, it has caught up with me. Lammme Sauuce. Luckily, my doc believes it is easily fixable. So, after a quick check chat, he sent me off with some fancy medication. I hope it works!  Fingers crossed, eh?

The gym was my next stop of the morning. Since I have been missing lifting with Lori, I have started following Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer Program.

So after a quick 30 minute warm-up on the Precor (like an elliptical) machine, I headed off to the weight room to give my legs a run for their money. I have a feeling I will be feeling it tomorrow!

When I got home, I only had one thing on my mind: FOOD! That workout really sparked my appetite! So, lunch together was quickly thrown together with anything I could find in my fridge:

A salad of lettuce, spinach, tomato, pickles (yes, oh yes) and shaved chicken. Not pictures is a side of parmesan dressing. I like to dip my salads in dressing . . . actually, I like to dip about any food I can in some type of sauce. It’s an addiction, really.

Now for one of the creme de la creme of my afternoon:

Crispy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

OR as I like to call . . . Buckeye Cups. Hey, I’m from Ohio. We represent.

I have been dreaming of making these puppies ever since I came across the recipe on Iowa Girl Eats. Not only does it combine the best match known to man (uhum. . . women), but it is also crazy simple to make!

Just toss some chocolate chips into mini muffin tins.

Give ’em a little love tap.

Make and top with the peanut butter mixture . . .

Voila! Just pop them in the fridge to harden a bit, and they are ready for you to eat.

*These are best kept in the fridge, but make sure to take them out a few minutes before you plan on trying one (or three). Your teeth will thank you.

Luckily Madre convinced me to join her Step/Cardio Aerobics class tonight. I might have had one six too many spoonfuls of peanut butter mixture while making these heavenly treats. Whoops!

Make sure to check out Kristin’s blog for more great recipes!

Catch you on the flip side!

Question of the day:

  • What is your favorite thing about coming home?

Powered by Qumana

1 Comment

Filed under lamentations, recipes, work outs

One response to “Home is Wherever I’m with You

  1. Pingback: Another Dreary Saturday | Going Through the Big D

Leave a Reply

