Weddings, Sweets, and Whatever’s next

‘Tis the season! Wedding season that is!

I have been on hiatus from my job as an events waitress for a few weeks now, but I finally returned to working the wedding scene last night . . . and boy, what a reunion it was!

I did not realize how much I enjoy a good wedding until I started working them this spring. I love seeing how individualized each reception is: the decor (color scheme, centerpieces, lighting, etc.), the venue, the bride’s dress, the cake, and the couple themselves. I keep making a mental note of things I like . . . hopefully one day I will be able to use them. 😉

As far as the wedding last night, the bride definitely went for a fairytale theme. Silver and white draped the tables and chairs of the hall and glitter sparkled from every place setting. Oh, and how about this:

Cinderella anyone? Now THAT is a cake.

However, I must give the newlyweds some credit. The atmosphere may have only been a masquerade of a Disney fairytale, but the couple themselves looked as if they truly had a once-in-a-lifetime magical romance. It made me green with envy! The groom performed a beautiful guitar serenade for his new wife, and the two were practically inseparable the entire night. He even dabbed club soda on the bride’s dress when someone spilled a drink down her back during a quick hug. AND he helped her take her heels off for her at the end of the night. (You know, all that tulle and fabric). Seriously . . . she didn’t even ask.

I want one.

Since I did not get home until after midnight, I had no trouble sleeping in until 8am this morning. However, sometimes sleeping in does more harm than good. I get groggy morning syndrome. You know, that feeling you get where all you want to do is sit on the couch the entire morning in your pajamas? That was me.

My drive for productivity did prevail a tiny bit. Or maybe it was my constant craving for sweets . . . either way, it was the perfect morning to whip up a few recipes I had been wanting to try for quite some time now. Plus, I could stay in my pj’s. Shazing!

First up on the recipe docket was . . . drumroll please: Chocolate-Covered Katie’s Cookie Dough Dip!

I have heard good things about using chickpeas as a healthy alternative to flour in these types of recipes, so I thought I might as well give it a shot.

I pretty much followed Katie’s recipe to the T, but I did use Ideal (brown sugar alternative) in place of the sugar. I also opted for only adding 3T of nut butter instead of the whole 1/4 cup as originally noted. This is also where I put a little twist on my cookie dough.

I added 1T of my favorite peanut butter of all time:

Kroger brand Natural peanut butter, Once you go Kroger, you’ll never go back!

Oh looky there. Almost time for Oats in a Jar! Yuuuuzzz!

I then added 2T of this sweet stuff. It’s the bomb diggity:

The verdict? I was pleasantly surprised! Don’t get me wrong, I can’t say it will ever be my replacement for the real thing, but it was pretty darn good! I do believe I will be making this quite often.

Next up: Pumpkin Pie Dip

This stuff is where it’s at! I followed the original recipe, except I substituted Ideal for the sugar again. Mmmmm mmmmm good. I could sit down and eat the entire bowl in one sitting. Not that I would ever do such a thing . . .

This will definitely make a regular appearance in our house!

Along with sweetening up my morning with some yummy treats, Madre and I decided to top off the weekend with a movie: girl-style. So we headed to the dollar theatre to catch a showing of this funny chick-flick:

Absolutely hilarious! I mean, how can you go wrong with Chris Rock? And several members of the cast of Bridesmaids?! Love it! There are definitely some quotes I will be adding to my movie repertoire from this. 🙂

Oh hey! I followed the stereotypical progression of life in less than 24 hours: marriage to babies! Sorry, bad joke. 🙂

Well, I am off! Best wishes for a wonderful Monday!

Questions of the day:

  • What is your most memorable moment of a wedding? (Yours or a friend’s)

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, recipes

Leave a Reply

