Brown Butter Toasted Coconut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

As promised, I have yet another scrumptious recipe for you to sink your teeth in to.

Brown Butter Toasted Coconut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

These were the result of my anxious baking spree last week. While the circumstances of my baking frenzy were certainly not happy, my bounty of sugary wonderfulness was enjoyed by many. The staff at the nursing home were particularly grateful. Oh, and my Uncle B wasted no time in digging in when he got into town.

I really believe these are some of the best cookies I have ever made. Seriously.

I can’t remember where I found the recipe, but it is a good one! I wish I could call it my own, but alas, it is someone else’s genius.

Brown Butter Toasted Coconut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 C unsalted butter- melted and browned
  • 1 C sugar
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 C AP Flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2-3/4 tsp salt (I went in between!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/4 C toasted coconut (I used sweetened, grated)
  • 1 C dark chocolate chips or chunks (I chopped up Malley’s dark chocolate!)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • On a baking sheet, spread out coconut. Toast for about 6 minutes- until browned and fragrant. Watch closely so that it doesn’t burn. Remove from oven and place in a bowl to cool.
  • Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. The butter will begin to foam and crackle. Once the crackling subsides, watch the butter closely. The butter solids will begin to brown quickly. Once it is browned, remove it from heat and pour into a bowl to cool.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside for the moment.
  • In the bowl of your mixer, beat together butter and brown sugar.
  • Add egg and yolk, beat well.
  • Add vanilla extract.
  • With mixer on low, beat in dry ingredients until just combined.
  • Fold in coconut and chocolate. (Dough should be pretty thick).
  • Spoon tablespoon sized balls of dough onto baking sheets.
  • Bake for about 10 minutes. (I started with 8 minutes and went from there- I like mine on the underdone side).
  • Let cookies cool on the pan for a few minutes, then transfer them to cool completely on wire rack.
  • EAT! (Store those you don’t in an airtight container).

You will not be able to stop eating these. Nor will your friends. They might even help you make new ones.

You can thank me later.

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

