Down and Dirty

So what do I do on a beautiful sunny day? I get down and dirty . . . really DIRTY!

But I’ll get to that in a little bit. First thing’s first. Since I didn’t get a chance to blog yesterday, let me quickly fill you in.

Madre took off in the morning for my grandmother’s house. She wanted to visit a little more with my Uncle B before she had to take him to the airport this morning.

Isn’t he a cute uncle? Ladies, he is unmarried! (Yes, Uncle B . . . I am pimping you out). 😉

Anyway, I couldn’t join Madre because I was scheduled to work. I did, however, make it to the gym. Since I knew I had a pretty packed weekend ahead of me, I tried to take it a little easier. After a quick 30 minutes on the elliptical machine, I headed for the weights to complete Day 18 of the LiveFit program. (Oh, and I was right. My arms were feeling that awesome sore-achiness you get after a great workout. Oooo babe you know it hurts so good!)

Saturday gave my arms a break though. This time it was all about the legs:

I love those Single-Leg Barbell Deadlifts. Every time I bend forward I feel like I’m doing a quasi-arabesque. 🙂 I miss dance!

After a salad-stuffing lunch (plus a few handfuls of soy crisps and peanut butter), I headed off to work a wedding at our local art center! I was particularly looking forward to this wedding because I went to high school with the groom. Consequently, I knew quite a few people in the bridal party and in attendance. So, along with taking care of my regular catering duties, I also managed to squeeze in some mingling time. The only downfall was that I couldn’t join everyone in the dancing. THAT is the hardest part for me about working weddings. I often find myself bopping along to the beat of the music and mouthing the words. Hey! You have to find something to make re-racking water goblets interesting, right? Usher always does it for me . . .

I would have to say the wedding was a hit. The only hiccup, however, was the heat! Man, oh, man was it hot! I checked the thermostat around 9pm, and it was 88 degrees! 88! The curator said she had turned the air down . . . but I think I will either assume that she A) didn’t and said she did OR B) the AC was broken. I felt bad for all of the men in suits! I was sweating like mad and only had on black pants and a white blouse. Thankfully, no one passed out. We kept the water handy!

Now on to today. Did I mention that I like it dirty?

Hey! Stop! Get your mind out of the gutter! Sheesh. I meant I like running through the mud.

Warrior Dash

Yes! I have joined the ranks of thrill-seeking warriors. I have been wanting to participate for some time now, but I always have been busy during local-ish event dates. However, when I saw that another dash was going to take place in Ohio this summer, I quickly signed up and made sure to leave that weekend open. And I am so glad I did!

What made it even more fun was that I went with my good friend Lori; her sister, Angie; and a client/friend of Lori’s, April. It’s always a good time when Lori is around- she and I have the same thrill-hungry personality. Plus, she is always positive and encouraging. The good energy can’t help but rub off on everyone else around.

Here’s us pre-muddy mess.

All of us started out running together, but April and I got separated from Lori and Angie after just a half of a mile. Then I lost April after running up a hill. I looked over my shoulder, and she was gone! I didn’t want to stop my momentum, so I decided to keep going. I was a little worried about conquering the obstacles on my own, but I think I held my own.

Take a look at the course:

After looking at this I see that it is not an exact image of the course we ran, but you get the idea.

I think one of the hardest obstacles was one where you had to pull yourself out of the water and onto these heavy, floating rafts. It reminded me of how tired I would get after trying to climb on the giant inner tube while tubing on Lake Erie. (And Poppa always wonders why I would hold on for dear life. It was too hard to get back on once you were thrown off!) I think this one was particularly difficult for women. We aren’t blessed with as much upper body strength as you men!

Another one that I wouldn’t say was hard, per se, but was quite intimidating was “Deadman’s Drop.” It was a large wooden structure you had to climb up (it had beams for footholds like a wide ladder), but the other side was flat like a wall. So once you got to the top and positioned over the other side, you had to use your toes to slide down the face of the wall as you “dropped” to the ground. In reality, most people were only dropping a few feet, but it was a little tricky. I felt so badly for a girl that slide down next to me. She got too close to the wall and ended up scraping her face as she slid to the ground. YIKES!

I have to say though, my favorite obstacle was at the very end: crawling through the mud! Yeah buddy! 🙂 I told you I like it dirty. 😉

I ended up finishing quite a bit ahead of the other girls, but once everyone got together we took a celebratory picture!

Look at those girls . . . we’re sexy and we know it!

I even saw my manager afterwards.

She didn’t want to touch me, though. I wonder why?

All I wanted to do when I got home was shower. And shower I did. It was a glorious shower, too. I had to shampoo my hair twice. That was one muddy braid, my friend. Muddy indeed.

It was a great day all in all. I think I will sleep well tonight! And with that, I bid you adieu.

Questions of the day:

  • What is the worst wedding hiccup you have ever experienced?
  • What is your favorite thrill race?

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, work outs

Leave a Reply

