Gonna be a Bright Sun-shining Day

I absolutely love days that turn around for the better. They are precious little morsels of sunshine that should be treasured. They excite the same pleasure as waking up to sun streaming in through your curtains after weeks of drear and drizzle. Or finding you have more ice cream in your freezer when you though you ran out. OR discovering that the shoes you have been eyeing for weeks are on sale . . . for 80% off.

I love those moments.

Thankfully, today was one of those “on the up and up” days for me. Finally. I hate to sound pessimistic, but positive days have been few and far between for me and my family these past few months. (Or more, but I won’t get into THAT). However, I didn’t think that would be the case when I woke up this morning . . . if you can even call it that.

I went to bed last night thinking that I would hit my pillow and be out like a light. Not the case. I think I may have clocked in a good two hours of restless sleep at best, and if you know anything about me, lack of sleep does not a happy Dallas make.

I was surrounded by a groggy fog the entire morning. My visit to the doctor’s office consisted of an occasional mumble and nod, and my morning to-do list was slowly checked off while I fought the urge to crawl back into bed. I couldn’t afford to risk falling asleep and plunging deeper into a hazy daze, because 1) naps only leave me feeling more distraught and out of sorts IF I can even slow my brain down enough to sleep, and 2) I had to go to the gym.

However, as much as my energy was lagging, the gym proved to be my first happy pick-me-up of the day.

Why?

This girl got to lead the class today. And yes, I did kick their butts. It was an absolute blast. I have to admit, I was nervous going into it, but as soon as we started spinning, I really got into it. It was fantastic to see everyone really work and man, they were sweating! They did make fun of me a bit because I guess I can’t call out cues without a smile. What can I say? I’m a smiley girl.

Anyway, after class I got my next bit of exciting news: I have an interview tomorrow.

That’s right! I can’t say that it’s my dream job or anything, but it is something. It’s all about baby steps remember? The interview itself is with a staffing agency, but the agency does all of the hiring (or most of it) for Nationwide Insurance. So I am supposedly talking with them tomorrow about an Administrative/Clerical position. Cross your fingers for me? Maybe your toes, too? 😉

I wrapped up my evening by registering for my first half marathon: the Santa Hustle.

It takes place at Cedar Point, and we get to run in Santa beards and hats! What a way to kick off the holiday season! (Have I mentioned how much I love Christmas? I’m pretty much infatuated with the season. So jolly and merry . . . oh, I can’t wait). I am running with my friend Kelly, so that will make it even better. Although, she is a crazy good runner. So I might be left in her dust. But hey, I will be happy as long as I finish. I need to start training!

Oh, and I also squeezed in some therapeutic baking this evening. You’re going to love this recipe folks. Since we had about three huge bags of these hanging around:

I decided to make: Pistachio Shortbread

So buttery and nutty. Ohhhhhh yeeahhhhh. This is one for the books. And so easy!

PHOTO

This recipe comes compliments of King Arthur Flour.

I am a major fan of their flour. Ever since I first tried baking with their flour, I just can’t buy anything else. It’s the best there is. That’s all I can say. Their website and blog also has killer recipes.

Exhibit A:

And there’s more where that came from! So definitely check it out.

Well, I am off to try to catch up on sleep!

Question of the day:

  • What’s the best way you have found to brighten your mood?

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations, recipes, work outs

Leave a Reply

