Fingers Crossed

Happy Tuesday everyone! I am finally back from my brief blogging hiatus. I wish I could say that I am refreshed, brimming and bursting with news; however, I think that would be stretching the truth a bit.

My bum hand is largely to blame for my absence. Again, it is quite the task to type with one hand. Fortunately, I am slowly healing. My fingers are still puffy and purplish, but I think the swelling has gone down. Fingers crossed for a speedy rest of recovery, eh? Your fingers, not mine. I can’t yet. 😉

My computer has not helped maters either. Freezing on me, crashing, losing battery power at rapid speed . . . same ol’ thing. I know you are just as tired of hearing about it as I am with dealing with it. However, there is a light shining up ahead! I met with my bro, Gage, yesterday to take a look at some PC options. Maybe this one?

Image

That’s the ASUS R500VM-MS71

I love my Mac, but they are way too darn expensive. Anyway, I am hoping to have a new laptop in the next week or so. This will be such a relief to the small tech-loving side of myself. My wallet, on the other hand, will not be so jubilant.  Oh well, c’est la vie!

My week did kick off with some excitement, though. (Of the non-digital variety). I had my second interview with elitefts.net for their content editor position!

And . . . (drum-roll, please) . . . it went fantastic!

As soon as I showed up at the elitefts.net corporate office, I was immediately welcomed by several of the staff members. Everyone’s warm smiles made me feel at ease, and it was encouraging to see that everyone really seemed to be enjoying what they were doing. The atmosphere was incredibly down to earth—with everyone laughing and joking, eating lunch together, etc. Yet, with a 20% growth history each year since its inception, I know these folks still get it done!

The interview itself was actually really enjoyable. I know, an interview being enjoyable? I was surprised as well, but it didn’t feel like an hour-long grill-session. (Like most of the interviews I have been in before).  It felt like an actual discussion—a learning experience for both of us. Which is how it should be, shouldn’t it? I mean, yes, they are trying to find the best person for the job, but you also need to decide if what they are offering is the best fit for you. I think this is forgotten these days, but unfortunately there’s not much we can do, because of the sheer desperation for employment and all. :/

Anyway, I could truly see myself in that role. The scope of work sounds right up my ally- editing, proofing, AND fitness all combined into one crazy good editorial position! Heck yes! Here’s to hoping for a third interview!

I wish my Tuesday was as exciting and jam-packed as my Monday, but I guess I’ll take what I can get.

Ellie was certainly not thrilled this morning. When I grabbed her harness and leash, announcing that it was time to go get a hair cut and a nail trim, she hunkered down and gave me the pouty look.

Image

She needs it though. Look at that fur ball! And her nails are like daggers. Whenever she jumps on my legs to give me a hug, I am left with red scraps down my thighs.

Too bad dogs can’t have dental work. Ellie also has a mad under-bite.

Image

Haha! When her lip gets caught on her tooth it is even more pronounced. That silly goose.

 Image

Oh! And I need your opinion. I saw doggie costumes at Target the other day, and I think I may have to get this one for Ellie Boo.

Image

What are your thoughts?

Decisions, decisions.

Well, I’m off to make the most out of this rainy day! I might even try to bake something one-handed for tomorrow’s girls’ night . . .

Question of the day:

  • Do you have any good (or bad) interview stories?
Leave a comment

Filed under lamentations

Leave a Reply

